Lade ...

Set #6: Collaboration

The radically democratic museum

Nora Sternfeld, Kunsthochschule Kassel

Nora Sternfeld – Das radikaldemokratische Museum

 

What happens after the death of the museum? In recent years, much has been said about the museum’s crisis and upheaval –  about “tired museums” (Daniel Tyradellis) and the “end of the museum” (Catherine Grenier), only to discuss unused opportunities in the same breath, as well as new and different ways to think the museum – as a meeting space and contact zone, as a place of criticism, polyphony and negotiation. Something seems to be on the move, so it is unsurprising that today, thinking about the “Museum of the Future” is in great demand.

The topic is just as omnipresent in advanced museum discussions as the reference to a crisis of representation – both subjects and starting points for Nora Sternfeld’s book “Das radikaldemokratische Museum,” published in October 2018. And what is a radical democratic museum? First of all, a concrete contextualization of the function of the public institution museum seems important: it is neither the street where demonstrations take place nor the parliament. However, it is a political place – let us not forget that the history of the modern museum owes much to a museum occupation, the conquest of the Louvre in the French Revolution. The museum is a public institution connected with the street as a space of protest and the parliament as a meeting room, but it can do other things. other things can and do. The radical-democratic museology takes the museum to the word and challenges it. Because as a public institution, the museum belongs to everyone – which means more than that it should be open to all. It promises to be able to ask who “everyone” is and who remains excluded from it, to deal with what has happened, to negotiate what that means to the present, and how to imagine a future, which is more than just the extension of the present.

 

Nora Sternfeld is an art educator and curator. Since January 2018 she is documenta professor at the Kunsthochschule Kassel. From 2012 to 2018 she was professor of Curating and Mediating Art at Aalto University in Helsinki. In addition, she is the co-director of the ecm master course for exhibition theory and practice at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, in the core team of schnittpunkt. exhibition theory & practice, co-founder and partner of Büro trafo.K, office for education, art and critical knowledge production (Vienna) and since 2011 part of freethought, platform for research, education and production (London). In this context, she was also one of the artistic directors of the Bergen Assembly 2016. She has taught at international universities and published on contemporary art, exhibitions, history policy and educational theory.

Lade ...

Set #6: Kollaboration

Das radikaldemokratische Museum

Nora Sternfeld, Kunsthochschule Kassel

Nora Sternfeld – Das radikaldemokratische Museum

 

Was kommt nach dem Tod des Museums? In den letzten Jahren war viel von Krise und Aufbruch des Museums zu hören – von „müden Museen“ (Daniel Tyradellis) und vom „Ende des Museums“ (Catherine Grenier), nur um im selben Atemzug ungenutzte Möglichkeiten zu diskutieren, Museum neu und anders zu denken – und zwar als Versammlungsraum und Kontaktzone, als Ort der Kritik, der Vielstimmigkeit und der Verhandlung. Etwas scheint also im Aufbruch, und so nimmt es nicht wunder, dass die Rede über das „Museum der Zukunft“ wieder Konjunktur hat.

Sie ist in avancierten Museumsdiskussionen genau so allgegenwärtig wie die Bezugnahme auf eine Krise der Repräsentation – beides Themen und Ausgangspunkte, des im Oktober 2018 erschienen Buches „Das radikaldemokratische Museum“ von Nora Sternfeld. Und was ist nun ein radikaldemokratisches Museum? Wichtig erscheint hier erst einmal eine konkrete Situierung der Funktion der öffentlichen Institution Museum: Dieses ist ja weder die Straße der Demonstration noch das Parlament. Es ist allerdings ein politischer Ort – vergessen wir nicht, dass sich die Geschichte des modernen Museums doch wesentlich einer Museumsbesetzung verdankt, der Eroberung des Louvre in der Französischen Revolution. Das Museum ist eine öffentliche Institution, die mit der Straße als Raum des Protests und dem Parlament als Versammlungsraum verbunden ist, aber anderes kann und macht. Eine radikaldemokratische Museologie nimmt das Museum zugleich beim Wort und fordert es heraus. Denn als öffentliche Institution gehört das Museum allen – was mehr meint, als dass es bloß allen offenstehen sollte. Es verspricht die Möglichkeit, sich zu fragen, wer „alle“ sind und wer davon ausgeschlossen bleibt, erlaubt, sich damit auseinanderzusetzen, was geschehen ist, darüber zu verhandeln, was dies für die Gegenwart bedeutet und wie sich davon ausgehend eine Zukunft imaginieren lässt, die mehr ist als bloß die Verlängerung der Gegenwart.

 

Kunstvermittlerin und Kuratorin Nora Sternfeld ist seit Januar 2018 documenta-Professorin an der Kunsthochschule Kassel. Von 2012 bis 2018 war sie Professorin für Curating and Mediating Art an der Aalto University in Helsinki. Darüber hinaus ist sie Co-Leiterin des ecm-Masterlehrgangs für Ausstellungstheorie und -praxis an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, im Kernteam von schnittpunkt. ausstellungstheorie & praxis, Mitbegründerin und Teilhaberin von Büro trafo.K, Büro für Bildung, Kunst und kritische Wissensproduktion (Wien) und seit 2011 Teil von freethought, Plattform für Forschung, Bildung und Produktion (London). In diesem Zusammenhang war sie auch eine der künstlerischen Leiter*innen der Bergen Assembly 2016. Sie lehrte an internationalen Universitäten und publiziert zu zeitgenössischer Kunst, Ausstellungen, Geschichtspolitik und Bildungstheorie.