Lade ...

Set #6: Collaboration

Plural perspectives and the AdA School in the Japanisches Palais in Dresden

Noura Dirani and Marcelo Rezende, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

The question of the visitors’ roles in museums has been increasingly discussed in recent decades. Today, participatory projects as part of cooperative educational formats or interactive art forms are part of the programming of many art institutions worldwide.

The principle of co-design, however, goes a step further and starts earlier, in the planning process: the visitors become decision-makers, who have a direct impact on the content that is discussed in the contexts of an exhibition. The forms of collaboration are, like the results, complex and diverse.

To include plural perspectives is to break with the repetition of known and proved narrative patterns of the museum, which is mostly used to confirm a self-image instead of questioning and critically reflecting on it. They also enable new readings of art and embed them into current social discussions. The museum is thus questioned as a mere representational space and a place of democratic dialogue.

Noura Dirani regularly interrogates this willingness of the institution by involving various actors in her curatorial practice: the stories of staff members of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden for her “Museum of Untold Stories” or 15- to 35-year-olds in all of Saxony, who voted in a survey on how they imagine a good life (“Die Erfindung der Zukunft”).

The venue for these exhibition projects is the Japanisches Palais in Dresden, which currently also serves as an experimental space for the Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA), directed by Marcelo Rezende. Here, the question at stake is how such an extensive database as the AdA can be used, co-designed and interrogated by various actors in the future. The museum, as well as the archive, as the lectures show, are not purely representative spaces, but places of democratic dialogue.
 
Noura Dirani has been working as advisor for transcultural methodology at the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden since 2017. Previously, she worked as a research assistant at the Cluster of Excellence “Asia and Europe in a Global Context” at the University of Heidelberg and at the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, where she was involved in the research project “museum global”.
 
Marcelo Rezende is head of the Archiv der Avantgarden. The art historian, critic and exhibition organizer has been director of the Museum of Modern Art of Bahia (2012-2015), Artistic Director of the 3rd Bahia Biennial (2014) and, among other things, part of the curatorial direction of the 28th São Paulo Biennial (2008.

Lade ...

Set #6: Kollaboration

Plurale Perspektiven und die AdA-Schule im Japanischen Palais in Dresden

Noura Dirani und Marcelo Rezende, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Noura Dirani & Marcelo Rezende – Plurale Perspektiven und die AdA Schule im Japanischen Palais

 

Die Frage danach, welche Rolle die Besucher*innen im musealen Ausstellungsraum einnehmen, wird in den letzten Jahrzehnten verstärkt diskutiert. Die Partizipation an kooperativen Vermittlungsprogrammen und interaktiv angelegter Kunst wird heute an vielen Museen weltweit praktiziert.

Das Co-Design geht einen Schritt weiter und setzt früher an, nämlich bereits im Prozess der Planungen: Die Besucher*innen werden zu Entscheider*innen über die Inhalte, die künftig im Kontext der Ausstellung thematisiert werden sollen. Die Formen der Kollaboration sind, wie die Ergebnisse, komplex und vielfältig.

Das Einbeziehen pluraler Perspektiven durchbricht die Reproduktion eingeübter Erzählmuster am Museum, die das Selbstbild nur bestätigen, nicht aber kritisch reflektieren. Sie ermöglichen zudem neue Lesarten von Kunst und betten diese in aktuell gesellschaftliche Fragestellungen ein. Das Museum wird so als reiner Repräsentationsraum hinterfragt und zu einem Ort des demokratischen Dialoges.

Noura Dirani befragt diese Bereitschaft der Institution regelmäßig, indem sie diverse Akteur*innen in ihre kuratorische Praxis miteinbezieht: ob die Mitarbeiter*innen der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden für das „Museum of Untold Stories“ oder 15- bis 35-Jährige in ganz Sachsen, die in einer Befragung darüber abstimmten, wie sie sich ein gutes Leben vorstellen („Die Erfindung der Zukunft“).

Austragungsort dieser Ausstellungsprojekte ist das Japanische Palais in Dresden, das derzeit interimsweise auch als Erprobungsraum für das von Marcelo Rezende geleitete Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA) fungiert. Hier soll herausgefunden werden, wie eine so umfangreiche Datenbank wie das AdA zukünftig von diversen Akteur*innen genutzt, gestaltet und befragt werden kann. Das Museum, genauso wie das Archiv, so zeigen die Vorträge auf, sind keine reinen Repräsentationsräume, sondern Orte demokratischen Dialogs.

Noura Dirani ist seit 2017 Referentin für transkulturelle Methodik an den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Zuvor war sie unter anderem als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Exzellenzcluster „Asia and Europe in a Global Context“ der Universität Heidelberg sowie bei der Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen tätig, wo sie am Forschungsprojekt „museum global“ mitwirkte.

Marcelo Rezende ist Leiter des Archivs der Avantgarden. Der Kunstwissenschaftler, Kritiker und Ausstellungsmacher war Direktor des Museums für Moderne Kunst von Bahia (2012-2015), künstlerischer Leiter der 3. Bahia-Biennale (2014) und unter anderem Teil der kuratorischen Leitung der 28. São Paulo-Biennale (2008).